Iowa Hawkeyes men's basketball

The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team represents the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, as a member of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery was at Iowa since 2010, and is the head coach.
The Hawkeyes won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships have played 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments and won the Big Ten tournament twice. Iowa has played in the Final Four on three events, reaching the semifinals in 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship match against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was broadly successful in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s using a schedule resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of both George Raveling and Tom Davis. Beneath Olson, the Hawkeyes moved to the 1980 Final Four and won their Big Ten regular season championship.
They play 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s wrestling, basketball, and volleyball clubs.
Prior to playing Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which opened in 1983,[6] the Hawkeyes played at the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still utilized today by the school’s gymnastics teams. Before losing to in-state rival Northern Iowa, the Hawkeyes accumulated a school-record 21 wins at home.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more: